Voices of Liberation: Alex la Guma



This new addition to the Voices of Liberation series serves as a mapping of La Guma’s life, in addition to providing some of his key texts and insightful analyses of his important contributions. The book is divided into three broad categories: His Life in Exile, His Voice and Reflections on His Legacy.

Neglected no longer, Alex La Guma: The Exile Years, 1966-1985 restores La Guma’s career and activism in exile, which exemplify the global parameters of the South African liberation struggle during the second half of the twentieth century.

In stock

SKU: 9780796926678 Category:

Voices of Liberation: Alex la Guma

Alex La Guma: The Exile Years, 1966-1985 revisits the exile writing of Alex La Guma (1925-1985), a canonical writer of South African literature during the apartheid era. An activist with the South African Communist Party, the South African Coloured People’s Organisation, and the African National Congress, La Guma published numerous works and served as Secretary General of the Afro-Asian Writers Association from 1979 until his death inn Havana, Cuba, in 1985. He posthumously received the Order of lkhamanga in Gold for his body of work in 2003.

Best known for his novels A Walk in the Night (1962) and In the Fog of the Seasons’ End (1972), this new volume reveals a different side of La Guma by focusing on his non-fiction published from the time he left for exile in 1966 until his passing in 1985. During this extended period, he produced his most wide-ranging political and cultural commentary, which engaged with African decolonisation, postcolonial Pan-African ism, Afro-Asianism, and Third World internationalism.

You might be interested in